Meditation · Theology

PD in Full

A little less than a month ago, I sold my house. Well, more properly, my father had power of attorney and we were using a property manager to do all the nitty-gritty. I blame the time zone difference.

Sure, I told my coworkers and friends, “I sold my house,” with a smile. Sure, I felt free of continuing to make mortgage payments on a house I would never return to. But it never really hit me until I logged into Wells Fargo and saw this:

PD in Full

A few weeks prior, it had said something like “$153,000.” And now…nothing. The weight of debt lifted in a way that simply knowing the sale went through couldn’t.

Such is Salvation

The central event of Christianity is the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ. In that act, He took upon all the sin of those God has chosen to give grace to, suffering in full measure the debt that we cannot repay.

As sinners, we need to admit we’re in debt to a holy God who cannot set aside justice to “be nice.” But first we have to realize that we are in debt.

Being oblivious to it is similar to me never looking at my mortgage balance. While it wouldn’t make good financial sense to shrug off paying the mortgage (and the inevitable collections agencies’ calls), I could. It would result in my financial and person ruin.

Not admitting we have a problem in the form of sin (which really is wanting to do anything our own way, and not as God has prescribed in the Bible) doesn’t make the problem go away. It just puts us in denial.

The beauty and precious gift of salvation is that once we admit we are sinners in need of a savior (more specifically, the Savior who did all that is necessary to truly save us), our impossibly large debt is simply canceled. At that moment, God stamps it “PD in Full.”

Leave a Reply

